Time and Bridges (from both sides now)

P1100030

Driving west in the lower deck of the  San Francisco Oakland Bay Bridge.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TIME.   

Why does this photo of a bridge give me the “sensation” of time?

When I took this and other shots (some posted below),  I felt something emotional that I couldn’t explain, and today, when I read the prompt “time”, something resonated.

Is it a sense of the networking—how time connects and separates us? Its suspension? Its bridging metaphor? its sense of crossing over? Its steel grids, like the inner workings of a giant analog clock? Time in which we are encased?

I took this series of photos while driving across the San Francisco Oakland Bay Bridge (the Bay Bridge’s Eastern Span).

Adding to my emotional response, is the poignant timing.  Set for disassembly, this span will be closed as of August  28th. I just heard it’s taking a much-longer-than usual half-an-hour to cross today. It’s like a funeral procession. Are so many people there just to cross it one last time?

Brewdog at en.wikipedia [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)], from Wikimedia Commons

New and old east span, SSOBB

If one gets too enmeshed in the bridge and time metaphor, demolition doesn’t sound good. However, if one’s metaphor can yield to other meanings, this image may help:

Pictured: new span on the left, old span on the right, like a branching, with an old stem set for pruning.

Time.  A complicated compelling subject.

I hope Joni Mitchell will not mind if I paraphrase her “Both Sides Now” lyrics in the following way:

I’ve looked at time from both sides now,
from give and take, and still somehow
it’s time’s illusions that I recall.
I really don’t know time at all.



Time ticking by.  

photo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons



Photo of new and old east span, found at Wikipedia.  Attribution to Brewdog here

Replies~

