Your Phone is Still Taking Messages

I can pretend the world hasn’t ended—

I can look at the light switch and imagine
       it’ll still turn the lights on and off.
I can look at the faucet and imagine
       it’ll still serve water, hot and cold.
I can look at the thermostat and imagine
       it’ll still set the temperature as I please.

I can look at the phone and the numbers, that,
strung together in just the right sequence,
ring your phone and find you there. . .yet. . .
each time I imagine. . .
I feel a twinge. . .

oh, this ended world
that I ever pretended existed.

Replies~

