Appearances a.k.a Change

How can I trust appearances
when my painting on the wall
has been changing for all these years?
How can I trust my assumptions of others
when I see myself in old photographs
and wonder?
How can I trust my own voice
when I can’t even predict
my next word?
How can I trust my own hand
when I keep catching it
misplacing things?
How can I trust my tears
when they fall
without permission?
How can I trust my plans,
when I don’t know where
I’m going to die?
How can I trust time
when I just checked it minutes ago,
and three hours have passed?

One thought on “Appearances a.k.a Change

Replies~

